Image Picks from London Olympics


The just concluded London Olympics was no doubt a resounding success. I believe it was one of the best managed events in Olympics modern history in terms of the venue, media coverage, event management and opening and closing funfares based from what we saw on tv and comments from different media sources.

In the Philippines we saw live coverage of the games from at least five tv channels courtesy of Solar sports (2), ESPN, Balls tv, and a local tv network.

We have 5 tv sets in the house and I positioned two sets in my Olympics war room along with my laptop supported by internet connections from two service providers (Smart and Globe). At my right side on the wall is a white board where I listed down game schedules and matches to make sure that I won’t miss important matches especially the men’s basketball, swimming and sprints for obvious reasons (NBA stars, Phelps and Bolt). I also have a camera with me thinking that at certain moments I could snap some shots from the tv which I was not able to do except in two programs that had nothing to do with the Olympic games.

Unable to do some snapshots, I googled up for Olympic pictures and picked a dozen that, from my subjective self, could be the best images that would serve our best memories of the London Olympics for the longest time ever.

Here are my dozen picks:

Image

  1. MICHAEL PHELPS
    Tyler says:“This was my first big Olympic event with one of the most famous Olympic athletes of all time and I was nervous. I knew I wanted an action shot as water drips from his head just as he exits the water. Phelps lost the event, but for me, the first big Olympic event in my life was a success. Phew!”

Image

2. USAIN BOLTTyler says: “This was the premier Olympic event, the moment everyone had been waiting for. Photographers had been planning and stargazing for days. We were now in our spots and by the time the gun went off, we had been waiting for hours. I was located in a photo pit about halfway around the turn, 50 meters beyond the finish line. This was the spot where we thought he would celebrate but he ran right past us. I had to wait for him to run around the whole track before he finally came back to a spot where I could see him. Luckily, he did his signature move and I have a nice photo to remember my biggest Olympic moment with the fastest man in the world.

Image

3. MEN’S OMNIUM. Tyler says: “It can be hard to find a different picture surrounded by so many good photographers. Add to that the responsibility of covering Canadians competing, and it can be quite challenging to make something unique. However, during a long men’s omnium race at the Velodrome there was plenty of time to try some slow pans as cyclists rounded the banking turns.

Image

4. SIMON WHITFIELD’S FAMILY. Tyler says: “Not all the best stories of the Olympics happen on the field of play. For many athletes the long journey to the Olympics is a family commitment. This picture offers a different perspective on the nature of competition that isn’t often seen.”

Image

5. KRISTIN ARMSTRONG. Ed says: “This was unexpected but I thought it really showed the human side of an athlete.”

Image

6. ALEX BRUCE AND MICHELE LI. Ed says: “I liked the focus and concentration level of Bruce’s eyes directly on the birdie.

Image

7. CHRISTINE SINCLAIR. Ed says: “The raw emotion coming from Sinclair made this photo. For her and the team to finally reach the medals was a great achievement, especially after their heartbreaking loss to the U.S. days earlier.”

Image

8. MEN’S RELAY TEAM. Ed says: “The flag over the face of Smith is what I liked with this photo. You can’t get a wider range of emotions, going from elation and celebrating a bronze win to a minute later, stunned, disbelief, dejection.”

9. MO FARAH. Jean says: “Another great moment on the track was Mo Farah of Great Britain celebrating his 10,000-meter gold medal with his daughter Rihanna Farah. I’ve never seen such a touching family moment at the Olympics before.”

10. MEN’S RELAY TEAM (PART II). Jean says: “Unfortunately, I also experienced the tears of the men’s 4×100 disqualification. I was so happy as a photographer that the relay team was in jubilation right in front of my photo position. It made for some great images only to see them become useless because of a line infraction.

11. PAULA FINDLAY. Jean says: “I also captured Paula Findlay’s physical letdown in the women’s triathlon. Findlay’s tears were overwhelming. I’ve always found it difficult to intrude on such a personal failure. Paula wanted to hide from the crowd for an instant and there I was, photographing from the stands looking down at her. Disheartening is an understatement.

12. SAILING. Jean says: “All photographers come to the Games to try and shoot beautiful pictures. As a sailor, I was hoping to leave London with some photos of the sailing venue that I could print and hang on my wall at home. I was delighted that Weymouth gave me such beautiful backlit photo opportunities.”

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in entertainment, Life and Leisure, sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

