Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign


[Guidelines from WordPress: Foreign. While foreign (rightly so) often brings up images of things outside of your own nation, it can also apply to things outside of or different from your normal environment, or even something which is out of place in general.]

I am taking it from the last phrase: “something which is out of place in general“. Here is my entry:

These are some of the “tire gardens” I have around the house. The concept was really to transform these used tires into food baskets. Instead of using ordinary garden soil into the tires, I placed vermicast which I bought from a nearby state agricultural university.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in garden, postaday, vegetable and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

  1. I was thinking, how is this out of place…? Then I saw the plants and I thought, wow! That’s new! Definitely foreign since I haven’t seen tire gardens yet. 🙂 What is vermicast exactly? My mom was looking at this magazine with vermicast as the main topic just yesterday but I didn’t ask her what it was about…

    Like

    • maxim sense says:

      Vermicast is a kind of compost fertilizer which consist of cattle, carabao manure (or practically any animal waste will do) mixed with shredded plant parts (in this one that I used to buy, rice stalks, banana bracks and dried fallen tree leaves were used). These were mixed in a dumping pit and kept moist for some time. Then at the right time, a special specie of worms were let loose in the mixture. These worms do nothing but eat and excrete and eat and excrete and these excreted matter is called vermicast. This is an organic fertilizer that is very rich in nitrogen with beneficial micro-organisms in it.

      Like

      • I see! So that’s the reason I saw some kind of worm in the cover of the magazine. That’s good since natural fertilizers are not harmful compared to synthetic fertilizers. I’m sure you’re going to have healthy plants. 🙂

        Like

  2. Colline says:

    A perfect way to reuse those old tyres.

    Like

    • maxim sense says:

      Yes indeed Colline. These tires just pile up in the garage store room and what better way to make use of them than this one. You can also place these ‘tire gardens’ anywhere you want it, even on concrete pavement. Thank you for the visit and the compliment.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

