New Year’s Eve


‘Twas the night before New Year
and the merrymaking’s just begun,
Already there was much clutter
of firecrackers exploding like gun.

In the midst of the deafening noise
I leaned out the window to peep,
As the dogs went wild and ballistic
all of which kept anyone from sleep.

Now Doggie, now Puppy,
I said in a rage,
If you don’t keep it down
you’ll be sent to your cage.

But the barking continued,
and pyrotechnics burst more,
Now I began to wonder
what could make them sore.

So I gathered some courage
and spied through the doors,
And you’ll never believe
what gave awe on all fours.

I saw figures all in white
some Angels singing carols,
of peace, joy and goodwill
for mankind’s eternal paroles.

What a wonderful sight it was
I was in awe and so solaced
No sooner than the voices gone
the spectacle was soon effaced

I lamented all of it though
when people were so engrossed,
Never giving any moment
to the vision I had crossed

Oh man so blindly swayed
to the lure of things mundane
Why can’t he focus once
on the spiritual he is ordain

Can we expect something new?
Or something we must renew?
And for every New Year’s eve
Can we stop being naive?

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in 2013, poem, postaday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Eve

  1. Maxim Sense says:

    Thank you to all those who had liked this post. You are the reasons why blogging is wonderful and inspiring.

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

