Australian Open: Opening Round Impressions


ImageYes. Maria Sharapova was so consistent and I would say ruthless in her opening round game. She gave her fellow Russian a 6-0, 6-0 beating. She advances to the 3rd round to meet Venus Williams of the U.S. (Serena William’s sister). My prediction is Sharapova will defeat the younger Williams but it will go down the stretch.

So bad for Australian Leyton Hewitt. He succumbed to the Serbian Tipsarevic but it was a fierce duel between the two. Samantha Stosur (another Australian player) though is still there and as a seeded player, she is expected to make a strong impact in her home court, so-to-speak.

I have yet to see action from the Aussie wonder boy (he’s only 19) Bernard Tomic (omg, he’s handsome, but I’m not gay). He is scheduled to play this afternoon (7pm, Melbourne time) against the Argentinian Leonardo Mayer. I think Tomic will win this match.

Another idol of mine, Ana Ivanovic (of Serbia – former world no. 1) made an easy win over Hungarian Czink (6-2, 6-1). Ana has been struggling in past tournaments and I really hope she will make it big this time.

As the tourney progresses through, more and more exciting matches are up for grabs.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

