2013 Australian Open: My Fearless Forecast


QUARTERFINALS MATCH

Men’s Single                                                Women’s Single

Djokovic (1) vs. Berdych (5)                Azarenka (1) vs. Kuznetsova

Ferrer (4) vs. Almagro (6)                    Williams (3) vs. Stephens (29)

Chardy vs. Murray (3)                           Na Li (6) vs. Radwanska (4)

Tsonga (7) vs. Federer (2)                   Makarova (19) vs. Sharapova (2)

At the onset of the Australian Open, I had predicted the top four players (men and women) to wage their way through to the quarterfinals. And it happened just that way as you can see from the matches above.

However, it was interesting to note that two unseeded players – Jeremy Chardy of France and Svetlana Kuznetsova of Russia – were quite privileged to make it to the quarterfinals. For these two players, getting into the quarterfinals was already an achievement by itself. Judging from the fact that these two names were not seen from the quarterfinals list of the 2012 US Open, Chardy and Kuznetsova seem to be dark horses in the Aussie Open quarterfinals. However, I am not ready to admit that they can pull surprises up till the finals. That is the spot I had reserved for the top four men and women players: Djokovic, Federer, Murray, Ferrer and Azarenka, Sharapova, Williams, Na Li.

My fearless forecast is that the semifinals will be played by Djokovic and Ferrer for the first match and Federer and Murray for the second match. We know Ferrer to be a very aggressive player but if Djokovic can use the same strategy he used against the surprisingly enhanced play of Wawrinka, he (Djokovic) is expected to prevail over the Spaniard (Ferrer).

In the case of a Federer – Murray encounter, Federer has the stronger urge to defeat Murray for two reasons: to avenge his defeats from the hands of Murray in the Olympics and the US Open.

Wherefore, from my crystal balls, though a little obscure, I see a Federer – Djokovic duel for the championship trophy but I will reserve my guess on who will emerge the champion, lest, it will dampen the excitement that is always there in the Australian Open – the grand slam opener of the year.

From among the women, I would predict an Azarenka-Williams encounter in the first match of the women’s singles in the semifinals and a Sharapova – Na Li contest in the second match.

On the same basis as in the Federer – Murray encounter, Azarenka has the stronger urge to defeat Williams. She cried a lot knowing she had the opportunity to defeat Williams in their US Open championship match last year but missed it quite badly. This time, I feel that she would not give anything to chance.

In case of a Sharapova – Na Li encounter for the semifinals, I have the gut feeling that Sharapova will prevail over Na Li (again) after Sharapova successfully denied Na Li her first grand slam title in Wimbledon.

In an Azarenka – Sharapova finals showdown, my crystal ball says the younger player will emerge the winner. I thought my crystal ball shall leave you guessing here. Apparently, it did not.

For the first time ever, I consulted my aging crystal ball to guide me in this fearless forecast. I hope it does not fail me, otherwise, it shall retire forever in its dusted wooden trunk🙂

SEMIFINALS

Men (Rank)                                                           Women (Rank)

Djokovic (1) vs. Ferrer (4)                             Sharapova (2) vs. Li Na (6)

Federer (2) vs. Murray (3)                             Azarenka (1) vs. Stephens (29)

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in 2013 Australian Open and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2013 Australian Open: My Fearless Forecast

  1. Maxim Sense says:

    There are actually three confusing, if not competing, things here: my analysis based on last year’s statistics of the top players (or what my crystal ball says), who should win based on some personal considerations (which included the influence of Her Majesty), and the players’ actual conditions on the court.

    You might add what some people say about the players: Federer and Azarenka are quite arrogant (but I think they are not), Murray and Williams look serious on court (who doesn’t?), and Djokovic and Sharapova are the most glamorous of them all. I also think so (read: more people will scream if the last two become the Champions).

    Like

  2. Maxim Sense says:

    And now the biggest upset in the tournament happened with Sloane Stephens dislodging her fellow American third seeded Serena Williams. The big-hearted Sloane (19) showed mettle, youth and powerful cross court shots to defeat the more experienced Serena. For the first time also, my crystal ball has faltered.

    Like

  3. Maxim Sense says:

    My aging crystal ball scored anew as Federer beat Tsonga in a grueling 5-set match this evening (Jan. 23) that lasted almost 4 hours. The semifinal will be played by Djokovic versus Ferrer for the first match and Federer versus Murray for the second match.

    In the women’s department, Sharapova will take on Li Na for the first match while Stephens (a potential dark horse) awaits the outcome of the Azarenka-Kuznetsova duel.

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      Li Na is such a threatening figure on court, but off court she is sweet and comical. My crystal ball is just trying to impress me. Apparently, it trembles in fear imagining that it shall be incarcerated forever in its dusting wooden bin the moment it fails me miserably.

      Like

  4. Maxim Sense says:

    SEMIFINALS MATCH

    Men (Rank) Women (Rank)

    Djokovic (1) vs. Ferrer (4) Sharapova (2) vs. Li Na (6)

    Federer (2) vs. Murray (3) Azarenka (1) vs. Stephens (29)

    Like

  5. Maxim Sense says:

    Yipee.!! Li Na defeated Maria Sharapova. This is her first championship match of the Australian Open.

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

