The Jump of My Life


It was April 26 last year (2012) at about 7 o’clock in the morning when I took on one of the great challenges in my life – which I call “The Jump of My Life”.

The place was Sea Grass Beach Resort in the Island Garden City of Samal – a paradise island at the center of the Davao gulf, just across Davao City, Philippines. More specifically, the resort is located at Barangay San Miguel, Peñaplata, Samal Island City, just an hour drive from Babak Port – which connects Davao City and Samal Island.

The Seagrass Beach Resort is the hot stuff in Samal Island today and should be the target of your next getaway. It offers a spacious field thus perfect for group and company outings. The place is strategically located in a secluded section of Samal Island and this retained its exclusive appeal which is great for chilling out and relaxing. The resort offers great amenities and good accommodation that you’ll surely enjoy during your stay. It flaunts its bewitching swimming pool that you can enjoy splurging during your visit. You can rent cottages either in the beachfront or the ones floating in the sea trailed by bamboo pathways. They also offer tents that are for rent if you are rooting on a more adventurous and nature-embracing escape.

If you prefer a more convenient overnight stay then the resort offers duplex air-conditioned rooms that can accommodate 6 persons which you can avail in a very cheap rate. For those fun searchers, maybe the place cannot give you the adrenaline you need but they have few activities you can enjoy like billiards, playground, boating, and the overwhelming sunset at the end of the day.

Here are some of the amenities that you will enjoy:

We occupied the last floating cottage – which means that this is the deepest part of the sea water along the bamboo pathway. Its cool, crystal clear seawater allows you to see the colorful pebbles, small fishes and corals when you dive into the bottom of the sea about eight feet deep.

The children, some of them are really good swimmers and divers, were enticing (read as challenging) me to take on the diving board 10 feet high from the water surface. It immediately flashed into my mind with some nostalgic recollection that way back in the days (or years) these children shall see my best sommersault acrobatics and nobody could challenge me like this.

Without allowing this once-in-a-lifetime moment to pass, with one-half confidence and one-half hesitation, I took on the diving board. I was ready to show these kids what experience (not old age) could show.

After taking a long deep breath several times (and with a little prayer), I hinted on the camera-woman – my daughter-in-law, to make sure that the camera was ready to capture those rare moments in my life you seldom see.

And so, without much ado, here I go, gone and splashed into the cold addicting water of Sea Grass.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Whooaah! Yes, I made it. That was the jump of my life. Yay! :-)

This coming May 25, 2013 is the fourth birthday of one of the grand-children (Jim’s son). The family was unanimous in the choice of Sea Grass as the venue for the birthday party.

And if challenged (again), I think I can still do another jump. Once in a while, it makes some sense of fulfillment to take those adrenalin challenges.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in entertainment, physical fitness, suspense and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Jump of My Life

  1. terry1954 says:

    this was so uplifting, reminding us only our minds go first when it comes to getting older. The water is beautiful. I would definitely choose the floating hut over the water. I would love going to sleep to the ripples and the sounds of the night. Oh if I had the funds I would go there for a big respite break. It would be the jump of my life most definitely! Thanks for sharing with me Maxim

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      Thank you Terry.

      This was one kind of experience that everyone of our kind shall always look forward to. I feel that lurking into the beautiful water, and yes, sleeping in one of those floating cottages on any time of the day or night is certainly very therapeutic. And by the way, it would be my pleasure to have you as one of our guests on my grandson’s birthday.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

