Weekly Photo Challenge: Change


Hmmm.. this photo challenge made me think, really. Will I go literal, figurative or everything in between, as the WPC author, Michelle, says?

Well, I chose to be everything in between and show it while a CHANGE is actually taking place before my very own eyes.

Sometime last month, I chanced upon a Philippine cockroach (Duryodana, palpalis) undergoing CHANGE from its old self to the emerging white that it is as you see from photo below. Immediately, I grabbed my camera to capture this small wonder with the thought that someday I could use it as an entry to one of the weekly photo challenges. And indeed it came true and fitted right into this week’s photo challenge.

????????

A cockroach undergoing the process of molting or shedding off its overcoat.

Insects grow in increments; in fact, all arthropods do. Each stage of growth ends with molting, the process of shedding and replacing the rigid outer overcoat called exoskeleton. People often think molting is the simple act of an insect breaking out of its skin and leaving it behind. In truth, it’s a complex process involving hormones, proteins, and enzymes.

Insect growth occurs in the stage immediately following egg hatch. As the immature insect feeds and grows, its exoskeleton remains an inflexible container. Eventually, the larva or nymph must shed this unyielding overcoat to continue its development.

Without the exoskeleton for protection and support, the insect could not survive. The old exoskeleton cannot be shed until a new one is ready underneath, a process that takes days or even weeks.

When there is no more room for the insect to expand inside its exoskeleton, a hormone triggers molting. The exoskeleton separates from the underlying epidermis. Molting fluid fills the newly created gap underneath. Epidermal cells secrete proteins to form a new cuticle, which serves as a barrier between the insect and the molting fluid.

With the new cuticle in place, enzymes in the molting fluid digest the inner layer of the exoskeleton. Chitin and protein are recycled by the epidermal cells, then secreted under the cuticle. This secretion becomes the procuticle, the major component of the new exoskeleton.

Once the new exoskeleton is formed, the insect can begin the familiar step of shedding its old one. A large intake of air helps the insect expand its body, and muscular contractions force the outer shell to split, usually down the dorsal side. The bug squeezes from the outgrown exoskeleton.

The insect must continue to swell and expand the new cuticle, so it is large enough to allow room for more growth. The new overcoat is soft and much paler than the former one, but over a few hours, it becomes darker and begins to harden. Within a few days, the insect appears to be a slightly larger copy of its former self.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

  1. This is the only way I care to be near a cockroach!! What an excellent shot you got!

    janet

    Like

  2. terry1954 says:

    we used to have those giant flying cockroaches in Florida, I can’t say I am not glad I don’t see them anymore. great photo and close up!

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      I make sure that before the last tube is empty I have a new insect spray in the house. I really hate those mosquitoes, houseflies and cockroaches. Cleaning the house and the surroundings help to get rid of them but it is better to kill them when they try to make their presence felt.

      Molting insects do not move or cannot move for a few hours. This is the only time I can remember that I had not killed a cockroach. It may be my sworn enemy but in this case I just felt a little bit differently or a bit kinder for an insect that was so helpless at the time.

      Like

  3. Nice shot! Gross but fascinating!

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

