Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic


Nostalgic. “Sometimes, we long for the past: for moments we want to remember or recapture. The good times. The golden years. Or perhaps we’re homesick, or longing for something — or someone — that might have been.”

As I was going through some old pictures, I came across upon one thing of the past that reminded me of a certain nostalgic moment. It was my wife’s birthday almost 18 years ago (Nov. 20, 1995). I think, for the first time, we had allowed one intimate moment in our married life to be captured by the camera. You know how Muslims are reminded by Islamic tradition to keep private matters private.

Somehow, on the prodding of close family friends, we had to succumb to their small whims and caprices and allowed a birthday bashing kiss to be captured on camera. And here is that one nostalgic moment in our married life – the posting of which on cyberspace is already a big challenge by itself.

Image

The condition of the photo, with some portion of the surface already peeled off, speaks of its being a thing of the past. This was not only memorable in the name of nostalgia, but more so because it made me ponder quite seriously as to when was the last time I had kissed my wife on her birthday. Small matrimonial obligation that means a lot, and this is what made me a bit remorseful. Yes. It costs nothing to look back and reflect on those small things that bouyed the spirits of married couple. They are worth doing over and over again.

Nostalgia. It inspires the present and brightens the future.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

  1. Terry says:

    how precious!!!

    Like

  2. viveka says:

    This is precious in more than one way … love you entry.

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Quotes, My Inspiration | Maxim Sense

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

