Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow


“This challenge offers some fun opportunities to play — not only with the subject of your photo, but with light, color, and contrast to evoke foreshadow.”

I repeat: Light, Color and Contrast to evoke foreshadow.

With these elements in mind, I think, I got one for this challenge. Here is it:

Image

Image

Image

I was almost tempted to create a gallery out of this series of shots but I did not do so, on purpose. I want you to look more closely from top to bottom, or as my subject gets nearer as I played on the ‘zoom’.

Yes, I got this visitor one day as I was hanging some washed clothes by the stair landing. I had this stair landing constructed and roofed with transparent vinyl plastic sheets, and this is why, this area had since become the best alternative clothesline whenever the sun is overpowered by low foreshadowing nimbus clouds.

As you must have already recognized, my photo subject is a Philippine moth (Phalaenopsis amabilis, L.). This unexpected visitor plunged on one of the clothes I had hanged. I just did not mind it at first as I thought it might just fly away at the slightest disturbance. But no, it did not. It chose to stay and gave me all the chance to take shots. In fact, I overheard her saying “you can have me for your next photo challenge from WordPress’ The Daily Post”🙂

The poor light was a blessing in disguise as it gave me the natural foreshadow created by the whole image. And oh (awesome), look at the colors of the moth, the clothes and everything around; there is contrast all over which made the images clear and recognizable even at this gloomy day. Again, all three elements of photography collaborated here to create this amazing image.

NOW, HERE AGAIN, IS WHAT MADE THIS PHOTO AN ACCIDENTAL MASTERPIECE MORE THAN A FORESHADOW BY ITSELF. If you look at the deeper background (just below the moth) you see through numerous leaves of a santol tree. Did you notice that the lights penetrating through the leaves resembled the white spots on the moth’s wings? This is magical, amazing and unbelievable coincidence, I couldn’t say anything more!

Oh, photo challenge. You never cease to challenge the creativity in us.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in the daily post, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow

  1. Wait how big is this moth? It looks huge in the photos.

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      Yes, it is relatively big. I would imagine its wings to be about 7 inches (between the farthest points) when spread and its body would be about the same. Thank you, Busanee, for dropping in.

      Like

  2. Maxim Sense says:

    I love all my likers; they give me joy and honor when I see them. In fact, I really want to return the favours to all of them. Sadly though, some of them do not provide links to their sites in their gravatars.

    Like

  3. Terry says:

    that is a beautiful moth. You did a great job photographing it

    Like

  4. Is that a moth or a butterfly? It seems to have these two evil looking reptile heads etched on its wings. Is this its protective mechanism?

    Shakti

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      A butterfly to us is that one with colors other than brown and whose wings look like two overlapping semi-circles. We call the brown-colored ones with this type of wing as moth. No, those two evil looking reptiles don’t really look like them when seen from their actual image. They are just among those intricate lines and spots on the wings of moths and butterflies.

      Thank you, Shakti, for the visit.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

