Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree


“We’re looking forward to seeing your CAREFREE magical memories!…. Even more, I love making new memories: a carefree summer at the lake, a stroll through the park, dancing in the rain… then all I need to do is remember, and the same carefree feeling washes over me.” – Sheri Bigelow

From these thoughts, I shall imagine CAREFREE to be anything you did in an unperturbed manner or for no special reason at all you found yourself indulging into something. And now, whenever you try to recall everything, the same CAREFREE feeling “washes over you”.

Well, I don’t know if anything could be more CAREFREE than what my 13-month old grand-daughter did while we were sitting down one Sunday afternoon in one of the corners of a mall. But first, please have a look at the photo below.

Image

For the child, what she did was a small freedom to go for something which she thought was a spur of the moment opportunity to do something on her own carefree will such as this one – climbing up a stair on her own without minding that the next thing that could happen may not be something she will enjoy, like falling down ( and I hate to imagine such a fall could happen with her head hitting the concrete floor first!)

We just had our favorite “takoyaki” snack (a Japanese inspired vegetable ball as the name implies, not the usual fish and squid balls that we know but very much like it though). In short, everybody was full to the brim. Since we were in a corner, a wifi area, everyone of us pulled out his/her smart android phone as this was one great time to browse the internet and go to one’s favorite social network media. That included the parents (my son and his wife) of this 13-month old child. Oh, what a carefree parent this two could be! And guess what? I was that crazy grandfather, who, instead of rushing to the child, pulled his camera phone and took time to click on this rare carefree and dangerous moment.

Crazy world! Before, when we were as carefree as the birds and the bees and never mind the trees, and I repeat.. before the internet era, anybody who would have first seen this child in this kind of situation will not think of his camera phone first, for there was nothing of that sort in the first place, but would rather rush out to help her get out of this imminent danger!

Oh my God! You see how this modern technology gadget has conditioned our minds?

Forget everything for as long as I have what I thought was my craziest most carefree entry to this week’s photo challenge, nothing could be wrong!

And just to keep you updated and at ease, there was no untoward incident that happened to my 13-month old grand-daughter. The father did notice the subject of my photo shoot that day and acted on time to save his daughter.

I took a long deep breath afterwards and sighed, “never my camera phone again over the safety of anyone close to me”. This carefree feeling “washes over me”.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

  1. Terry says:

    I loved your message and the photo of the precious one is beautiful

    Like

  2. Your granddaughter is adorable! Thank you for sharing her magical moment with us!

    Like

  3. Maxim Sense says:

    Thank you so much to all those who had liked this post. You may not have left a word or two but your visit means a lot ❤

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

