Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus


Focus. This week’s challenge is inspired by Matthew George’s post on focus, in which he introduced us to the basics of depth of field and aperture. He explained what an image with a shallow depth of field looks like (or conversely, a photo with a greater depth of field), and how the aperture setting on your camera affects it.” – Cheri Lucas Rowlands

Let me see if I understood this challenge correctly. Depth of field (shallow or great) is achieved by changing your focal point on every shoot and making the corresponding adjustments on the camera’s aperture. For example, when you adjust the aperture based on a closer object of focus and point the camera to a new subject object farther away, you will get a blurred photo of that object. Conversely, when you point your camera to that far away subject object and adjust the aperture based on that focal point, you will get a clearer photo with a greater depth of field. Right?

I always take a step farther to challenge myself. Rather than using my NX 300 (with adjustable aperture and shutter speed), I thought of using the point and shoot camera of my phone (Galaxy S4) to find out if I will be able to achieve contrasting depths of field.

This is what I got.

Below is the one with shallow depth of field:

blurred

And this is the one with greater depth of field:

clear

How did I achieve this with a point and shoot camera?

The camera of a Galaxy S4 has different shooting modes such as auto, night, sports, etc. I used these three programmed settings to experiment on my shoots for this photo challenge. As we all know the camera adjusts automatically with the given environment when set in the ‘auto’ mode. When in ‘night’ mode the camera is set to a fixed programmed setting such that it allows more light from the environment with slow shutter speed. And when in the ‘sports’ mode the camera is set to a fixed programmed setting such that the shutter is set at much higher speed to catch up with fast moving objects as in sports activities.

For my shallow depth of field I used the sports mode. For high shutter speeds there is not much light that comes from the environment. Lesser light makes for less clear photos.

For my greater depth of field I used the night mode. A slow shutter speed accommodates more light from the environment. More light makes for clearer photos. Too much light though is dangerous as it can make shoots over exposed. Over exposure to light makes some parts of the photo less clear or less visible.

Well, we’ve been at it again and I can feel this is getting more and more challenging every time.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

  1. Maxim Sense says:

    Thanks for all those who had liked and visited this blog site. In fact, I can memorize a few of you who gives me regular visit every time like Terry, Colline, Dimitrii, LittleMissWordy, Madelaine, etc. I love to reciprocate the visit. Unfortunately though, there are those who do not provide personal links to their gravatars, so there is no way to find their sites.

    I always feel that, except for a few, the quality of my posts is directly proportional to the number of visitors each post had. I found this to be generally true. Each visitor is so important to me.

    Like

  2. suej says:

    I like your thinking, a challenge within a challenge.. 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

