Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea


“Sea. What kind of emotions does the sea or ocean make you feel? Do you remember the first time you went in the water? Had a wave crash on you? Felt the sand burn your feet? Do you feel more peaceful around water? Do you hate the beach? What’s the most interesting thing about the sea for you?”

“Lots of questions, lots of interpretations. Show me the different sides of Sea with your contribution! In a new post specifically for this challenge, share a photo which means SEA to you!” – Sara Rosso

My experience with the deep cool water of the sea some five years ago still lingers in my mind. By just looking at the photos below, it already tells you a lot about me and the sea especially when I am in a state of mind called lunatic interval.

ImageImageImage

Bonus. Someone imitated me without permission.

Image

Yes, this was me when I barely remember how I jump into the sea. It was just about eight o’clock in the morning. We were almost complete as an extended family. We chose a cottage that was farthest from the shore so we can enjoy the depth of the sea and the cool water down below. Me, my wife and all four children are experienced swimmers as we live near the Rio Grande de Mindanao – the widest and longest river in Mindanao island, South Philippines.

The children had challenged me if I could take the plunge into the sea from a height of 4 and1/2 meters (14.8 ft.). Without an iota of hesitation I said “yes” to impress upon them that I still take them seriously for whatever challenge they give me which included our most common challenge – playing lawn tennis against them every weekend.

I told them to go first and I will be the last one to perform. I wanted to make sure that they don’t cheat on me even if I knew that they can do it with ease and mastery. When it was my turn I requested one of my daughters-in-law to prepare the camera and take a shoot at every sequence of my jump into the sea.

Frankly, I was so hesitant in the beginning even after I was already poised on the makeshift springboard but I wouldn’t want them to feel that that was not easy for me. And so without showing any sign of hesitation I prepared for the plunge (the greater challenge more than this photo challenge) – the jump of my life.

1-2-3 there I go. Before any part of my body could touch the sea I felt as though I had plunged to eternity and forgot my name momentarily. Splash, I went down the deep blue sea and slowly swam up to the water surface to grasp for precious air, and more importantly, to swim back to the cottage before my lunatic interval expires!

OMG, it’s so difficult trying to prove that age had not yet gotten its toll on me🙂

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

  1. Terry says:

    I wanted to jump right in and share in the fun. Great photos Maxim. You did an excellent job with this challenge

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

