A Poem For A Retiree


(A co-worker, Ms. Emma Dimna Bondoc, is due for retirement on October 2 this year. We both work with the municipal government of Pikit, North Cotabato, Philippines. She personally requested me to deliver the opening remarks, during the testimonial program, which I gladly accepted. I want to surprise her with a poem I wrote which I am sharing with you).

Retired but never tired
Admired, not once fired
Stepping down from office
Not worn down from the service

Working with you was always a pleasure
Your friendship, valued more than a treasure
In countless moments that we shared
You always showed us that you cared

You have done a topnotch job
We shall miss you, we may sob
You may release more than a tear
Over the end of a long, successful career

Your absence, for us will surely bother
Coz we see in you always a mother
So nice in your ways but firm in reticence
No doubt a woman of style and essence

Come now friends and foes
Take away this woman’s woes
In unison we offer her love
As pristine as the white dove

Enjoy lots of respite and beauty rest
We wish you nothing but the best
This simple poem is no fancy award
May it inspire you to move forward

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in poem and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Poem For A Retiree

  1. MisBehaved Woman says:

    How lovely! What a nice thing for you to do for a friend/coworker. I am sure she will be just thrilled with the poem.🙂

    Like

  2. Terry says:

    I have no doubt she will realize she is loved and will be missed. Great poem Maxim. Let us know what she thinks

    Like

  3. Hi Mr. Maxim … your poem just touched my heart. my Bob is in semi-retirement mode (but not really his choice) although i remember how people touched our lives when the inevitable had to happen. i am sure this will be make a lot of people cry because there is so much love in the words you wrote … thank you for sharing this with us — April

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      Dear April,

      It feels great to be inspired, which was why I may have written a poem like this one. But it’s simply amazing to be able to inspire, and so much more when you touch other people’s heart. Nice people deserved to be loved. Thanks for the lovely comment and for the visit.

      Maxim

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

