Weekly Photo Challenge: Habit


“Habit. The stuff of the everyday — places we go, things we do, people we see.” – WPC

For the first time I’ll take all of the challenges here: “places we go, things we do, people we see.”

Here’s my take for these challenges:

Image
Place: Aside from my office cubicle, the other place I go more frequently is the tennis court. I don’t only play and exercise here. I feel that more often this is an unloading area for most of my excess emotional baggage. After each game with my boys I feel so relaxed, refreshed and recharged. There could be no other place of habit for me than the tennis court.

Image
Thing: If there is anything I tinker with more often, it is my Samsung NX300 camera. This is an all-in-one electronic gadget for me. It is my favorite camera, a thing to use to surf the internet (except when I am posting on my blog), cellphone to call and text my contacts, video player for widescreen viewing (when attached to a widescreen monitor), and music player (with my bluetooth earphone). With its 16mb built-in memory and 64mb memory card I am confident there is enough space for all of my favorite indulgences.

Image
People: The Philippines lies within the so-called Pacific rim of fire and typhoon belt, and therefore, it is prone to typhoons, flash floods, landslides and earthquake. Last month the province of Bohol experienced a 7.2 magnitude earthquake which killed hundreds of people. Yesterday, the neighboring province of Leyte was hit by a super typhoon (international code name: Haiyan; local code name: Yolanda) which was believed to have killed thousands of people. With 196 mph wind velocity, this was recorded as the strongest typhoon ever to hit land.

The official body count is not yet completed as local and international rescuers still have to find more bodies (believed to have been buried or missing) and consolidate their figures. These are enough reasons for me to learn to love and form the habit of closer bonding with the people with whom I am supposed to be in tandem with in the instant of calamity/disaster. In the above photo, I am giving a brief as incident commander during a field training exercise supervised by US-trained disaster managers and calamity responders.

Except for what I do in and outside my office which were not included here, it would seem the place, thing and people I have featured here would somehow reflect my routine in life. At the end of the day they complete my most important habits.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Habit

  1. It is utterly terrible they are saying upward of 10,000 dead!

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      If we consider several towns flattened to total wreck, this figure could be true. This is the worst disaster in the history of this country. This was the strongest typhoon ever recorded to hit land. We could only expect the worst out of this. OMG, please save this country from further disaster.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

