Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie


A selfie doesn’t have to be all about you; it can reveal much more, given the elements you choose to include.” -Cheri Lucas Rowlands

Right on there Cheri. A selfie can also be something about what I have that I like to flaunt like what a self-proclaimed selfie does with himself/herself.

And this time around please accept this “selfie” of our newly painted house.

Image

The house was constructed on March 18, 2010 and was completed in almost one year. Construction was relatively slow due to the phasing in of the budget. After almost 4 years painting is only being done now. Someone advised me that it was better for concrete to age completely before painting on it. I don’t totally subscribe to it because you can always use concrete neutralizer, sanding and cleaning and your canvass would be ready to paint, but there again, this was a convenient excuse for the slow phasing in of the budget. Blame it on the Department of Budget and Management.

 

Image

Obviously, my grand-daughter (Baby Drew) and her mother (my daughter) love to make the newly painted house (especially their part of the house) as selfie background. Their kind of selfie.

 

Image

And here, to me, is the climax of these “selfies”. This is one of two half french windows among seven full french windows. Why climax? I love my wife’s color combination concept. Lavander for the french window frame is so uniquely beautiful to me. This is a bit ‘girlie’ if there is such a thing but I think I’ve never seen one like this before. It makes me feel like ordering my favorite ‘ube’ ice cream, anyway🙂

Oh ‘selfie’. You may only please the self but you are always important to the self(ish).

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie

  1. Those colours are really nice together. Are they typical of the houses in your area?
    PS Our Cottage needs a coat of paint too if you are available!!!

    Like

    • Maxim Sense says:

      These color combinations are not quite common here. Most houses here have maroon roofing, light yellow walling with some biege accents and dark brown base color.

      For your cottage the color combinations would depend to a great extent on its environment. If that is up there in the mountain dark green, dark brown, mint green and white would be a good color combination. If that is on the beach I would suggest navy blue, sky blue, light gray and off-white for your color combinations.

      Thanks for the visit. I hope I could be there in your place so that I can do the painting myself🙂

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.

