Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life


“A snapshot of a street (or road or path) can tell a tale.”

“In a post created specifically for this challenge, share a photo that brings a street to life.”

It does not only bring a street to life. To some people the street is their life, or life on the street is what helps them make both ends meet for them.

Here are glimpses of some street scenes that tell lots of tale:

Image

In one of the flooded streets of Navotas, Metro Manila, this pedicab driver braves the water and the rain to do business as usual. In Navotas about one-fourth of the city is mostly submerged the whole year round. It’s quite hard to imagine how people make both ends meet but most people really have their own unique ways of adapting to certain conditions on the street and of life.

Image

And these kids seem to have found a better playground which they might want to call “street pool”. If beauty is in the eye of the beholder, a place is how you make use of and enjoy it.

Image

Still, to these kids the street is not only a place to mill around but home sweet home. We can only imagine how the piece of cloth available to them makes them comfortable. My heart breaks whenever I see horribly unacceptable scenes like this. How can this world be so cruel to some!

Image

I should better conclude this week’s photo challenge with a unique street life that somehow reflects a life that is not devoid of the blessings of creativity, modern technology and happiness. In some streets in the Philippines some enterprising people had learned to make use of air-conditioned transport vans to set up an internet cafe. At least, this is a kind of street life that knows how to keep up with modern trends and fads, if I may add that.

Oh street lives! You make me change my mood so fast depending on where I train my camera. I can choose only the beautiful and inspiring ones but they don’t seem to give complete tales without capturing the other side of beautiful, inspiring and happy.

About Maxim Sense

I hope to write for a cause someday but for now all I wanted really is to write for a cost and I haven't started yet, or better still, nobody wants to pay me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life

  1. Colline says:

    The first shot describes a very challenging experience. Wow.

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I love them.